2023 Predictions: Trump Drops His Bid and More

These are my controversial business, political, and pop culture predictions for 2023.

Hey Everyone,

I'm going to use the final issue of BwB to share my predictions for 2023 about politics, business, pop culture, and more. A year from now we can check back and see if I'm as smart as I think!

Without further ado...

1. Trump will drop his 2024 presidential bid

This isn't meant to be political but observational. The energy he had in 2016/2020 has dissipated, and he's fighting a multiple-front war between legal issues, horrible midterm endorsements, and the extremely popular Ron Desantis. In November 2024 Trump will NOT be on the ticket and he'll make this decision in 2023.

2. SBF will get off easy

I'm speaking relatively here... I think he'll get sentenced to between 20-35 years. He's facing 115 years, but the sentences could run concurrently, and he likely won't be convicted on all eight charges he faces. I don't know if it's the political donations (to both sides) or the family ties, but I don't see him getting a life sentence.

3. Web3 is dead

During 2021 and the first half of 2022, it was ALL ABOUT web3. Many made and lost fortunes overnight on NFTs, shitcoins, and yield farming. It turns out we don't need a "blockchain for everything," and ape JPEGs aren't worth millions. Aside from BTC and ETH, the crypto experiment is over, and even these have a few dark years ahead. I can admit I got caught up in some of the FOMO (my wife isn't happy about that)!

4. Real Estate will get hammered

This isn't exactly bold, but I recently read that ~300,000 people who bought homes in 2021 couldn't sell for the purchase price, so I started doing more research. Below is the 1-yr price chart for a highly competitive town in metro Boston, typically well-insulated from housing crashes. Rates exploded past 5.25% (up to about ~7%) starting in August, and the prices immediately responded. Despite what agents tell us, this will only be amplified as rates stay high for at least 2023.

5. Twitter will hit 500+ million daily active users

I'm biased, with ~90,000 followers, but I'm not alone in noticing the app feels ALIVE. The public view count feature makes it easier for creators to make brand deals, and management has promised to make the platform more friendly to creators who will drive better content and attract users. The DAUs are currently 206M, so my prediction represents over 100% growth for Twitter. I'd never bet against Musk; some people simply know how to win.

6. Tom Brady returns to New England

TB12 (as we New Englanders call him) won his first Super Bowl when I was in 4th grade — and I believe we'll see one more with him in red, white, and blue. The rumors are swirling and he's obviously not resigning with Tampa. New England has a top-10 defense, automatically making them a contender with Brady at the helm. Lastly, without Gisele to stop him, the Prodigal Son will embrace the frosty MA winters once again. Come home, Tommy Boy.

7. Creator influence grows in B2B

I spend a lot of time building an audience on Twitter and LinkedIn because I believe distribution is the most challenging/most expensive part of business. Personal brands in the B2B space have gained traction and will attract advertising dollars as their reach grows, and traditional methods become harder. Many millionaires will be minted in this space in 2023.

Work with Barrett

We've worked with 100+ clients to improve their backlink profiles and enhance SEO for their websites.... and we're growing in 2023. Check out our site HERE.

If you're interested in working with us, schedule a call below. Limited spots are available.

Please feel free to email me at [email protected] with any questions, feedback, ideas or opportunities!

Thanks for reading!